linux n00b

XFS Defrag

Posted in Administration, General by downforce on May 20, 2007

I was checking out Micke’s blog post Feisty Performance – “Fly Like A Butterfly” and one of the tips was XFS defrag.

My file server has a 500GB LVM partition in XFS spanned across 3 HDD’s so I thought I’d check how fragged my system was. Here was the result:

actual 352480, ideal 58355, fragmentation factor 83.44%

83.44%! WOW! I’m amazed … I does contain a lot of files I download through TorrentVolve that usually get extracted then moved around so I wasn’t surprised it was fragmented. I’ve left it running now, wonder how long it’ll take?

And of course – thanks for the tip Micke!

Leave a Reply

