linux n00b

My brief flirt with Debian 4.0 Etch

Posted in Desktop, Distributions, General by downforce on April 23, 2007

I feel my Linux journey is coming to the point where trying one distro over another actually means something slightly more rather than looking at the window manager/desktop. Don’t get me wrong I don’t know all the ins and outs, but I’m getting a better feel.

So with that, I went and installed Debian 4.0 Etch via a netinstall. In fact I’ve installed it 3 times now, 2 different VM images and also on a partition of my main rig. I’m mainly dealing with the install on my main rig as that’s the one I really tried to use.

Not surprisingly it installed almost exactly the same as Ubuntu. I even tried it with the installgui option. TBH this is just fluff and without the video card acceleration, it’s painfully slow refreshing.

I decided on a “Standard Installation” and “Desktop Installation” and went with KDE (as I’m tending to favour over Gnome now).

Everything installed great and was working fine, with the exception of sound. Sound under every installation has been painful, woefully painful. Oh I lie, Ubuntu (7.04 beta) with a seperate wajig install kde worked great!

It wasn’t before long I got frustrated. The main reason? The packages in the repo’s are sooo old compared with Ubuntu. As a desktop, I want bleeding edge, I want wine 0.9.35, OpenOffice 2.2, not wine 0.9.25 or OpenOffice 2.0.

In a commercial setting where stability is key I’d go for Debian, as felt nice and stable, not didn’t work. I know if, or should I say when, I need to rebuild my server, I will go for Debian instead of Ubuntu.

I’ve just installed openSUSE instead on that partition. It’s my first non-debian based distro. I’ll let you know how it goes.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tomcat said, on June 14, 2007 at 08:35

    “As a desktop, I want bleeding edge…”

    And you choose Debian stable ??!??

    — TC


Leave a Reply

