linux n00b

PengiunPete & tux500.com

Posted in General by downforce on April 18, 2007

This is a response to PengiunPete and your posts about Tux500.com. I wrote this comment on your site, but seeing you’ve disabled comments I’ll post it here until I can post on your site.

Once reading your posts, I became slightly more suspicious. I have to admit I did have some reservations to begin with, mainly on the basis of the short period of time they are attempting to do this in.

So, I did some research of my own and I tend to this this isn’t a scam. I might be overly ambitious, but I don’t think it’s a scam.

My evidence:
Check this LinuxToday editors note:

[Editor’s Note: As full disclosure, it should be noted that I am acting as an volunteer independent auditor for this fund-raising project. This is being done as a personal project, and does not imply endorsement of this project by Linux Today or Jupitermedia. I will be happy to answer any questions regarding the project to the best of my knowledge. -Brian Proffitt.]

Next, the image. Check out that indy500.com article and look at the bit at the bottom right “Web: petersmotorsports.com”. Go to his website and you’ll see he’s a graphic designer of car liveries. He did the Firefox car, so it’s no wonder you think Tux500 one looks like the Firefox one. Also, as a racing fan (F1 not Indy, but still), those actual cars don’t look that similar.

Now I’m not saying you ARE wrong, but I think there are way too many people involved for this to be a scam.

Helios has been going crazy promoting this. It’s his project so why wouldn’t he? Some of his posts are obnoxious but at least he’s giving it a go.

It may not be the best cost/benefit solution but at least someone’s trying something different. It’s created a reaction in the Linux community, maybe someone will do something else that works better, and it may come off the back of this.

Lastly, to Helios, who I’m sure it checking back here … what will happen to the money if you don’t reach $350k? Going for a small sponsor package, giving it to other FOSS communities? Please tell us.

For this alone I haven’t donated yet.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Penguin Pete said, on April 21, 2007 at 07:02

    My deepest regret is that I didn’t find and post this first:
    http://lxer.com/module/newswire/view/85763/index.html
    because it really tells what’s wrong in one page.
    That goes to a “warning” to the Fedora community not to question the return-on-investment or they’d be remembered as someone who “got in the way” and it “can come back to cause us grief”?

    The scam angle that the Linux community at large is being pressured into throwing money into this without being allowed to ask about things like Stephan Gregoire’s stats:
    http://www.indycar.com/stats/driver_stats.php?statYear=1998&driver_id=15&showCareer=1#careerSummary
    and the possibility that he won’t be on the track long enough for this to even be worth it. Apparently all at the behest of this Acceleration Marketing, which I’m now thinking has conned the original two bloggers as much as anybody else is.

    The postings are a real mess, because I blogged everything as I found it and only put the pieces together at the end. I had no idea how big it would get!

  2. helios said, on April 24, 2007 at 22:03

    “Lastly, to Helios, who I’m sure it checking back here … what will happen to the money if you don’t reach $350k? Going for a small sponsor package, giving it to other FOSS communities? Please tell us.

    For this alone I haven’t donated yet.”

    What if we don’t raise enough money to meet our goal?

    If we fall short of our primary funding goal, we will still have a sponsorship presence on the car. If we raise even $25,000, Linux will be an associate sponsor on the car. We feel confident that we can at least raise that amount. Our visibility on the car will be based on how much money we raise. Our efforts in this regard will be aided by seeking matching donations from corporations that profit from the collaborative work of the Linux community. Those who join with us will also get their names on the car, all in equal size to one another, but clearly subservient to the car’s primary “Linux” graphics. http://tux500.com/faq.php

    As long as I or Bob Moore are the LINUX Community Members leading this effort, the minimum sponsorship effort, or “Associate Sponsorship” level will be reached.

  3. downforce said, on April 24, 2007 at 23:04

    Thanks guys for responding. I’ve been reading the various discussions on both sides and it’s … interesting, to say the least.

    Helios, I think the whole concept is almost revolutionary and the speed with which it all has to happen is lightning!

    The more I read, the more I think PengiunPete is wrong in this case.

    With that I will put my money where my mouth is and stick in my $AUD1.64 🙂 (I’ll actually stick in more but that’s the soundbyte!)


Leave a Reply

