linux n00b

My furore into the World of Linux

Posted in Administration, General by downforce on April 8, 2007

This was one of my posts from my privately hosted WordPress blog. I decided not to expose it to the world as 1. it has 256kb upload 2. I keep private docs on that same PC so it’s a security issue for me. Anyway, here was my original experiences posted 18 February 2007.

My adventure into the World of Linux (WoL) started off with me building a server for files serving and basic web-hosting, this site you are currently on now, it’s a PC in my linen cupboard and does some funky stuff for me!

Setting up Linux as a server was I have to say, fairly painless. It’s been many years since I last used Linux, I set up a slack-ware 9 box to play with and I think I had it about 2-3weeks before going .. what now? Linux has come a long way since then in terms of getting distros that work ‘out of the box’ .. <in steps Ubuntu>.

So, I want a server (PC care of my dad) … Ubuntu is the top of distrowatch, I go check it out and they have a server edition, cool! Download, install … Using their help site. Wow i’m up and running .. how easy was that!! I was impressed. Since then I broke that server and reinstalled from scratch, but basically set it up again the same.

In steps another PC (care of the father-in-law) which is higher specs (scsi card & tape backup care of brother-in-law) and a nice fast SCSI HDD ($20 from Discount Computer company I used to work for), a stop gap until I can get a Dual processor rackmount server I can attach to the bottom of one of the shelves! [Now’s a good time to mention first PC was running IDE at ATA33!! woot, fast </sarcasm>]

I decided to do more research again, see if another distro was more suitable. After hours of reading, I came to the conclusion that Ubuntu server is a fairly decent server product. It installs very little to start so you can pick and choose. The Ubuntu repositories have up-to-date software, at least everything I needed, latest mythtv, wine etc.

So, installed it all from scratch again and it’s working sweet, in fact it’s running this site and the associated gallery, plus a few other web-based service that I use for personal stuff and it hardly gets above 50-60% CPU utilisation.

My only problem now is I keep running out of hard drive space, the SCSI is only 18GB and the IDE I’ve put in is 40GB, that willl tide me over until I can get something bigger in it!

Next story is my wonder story of installing Linux on my desktop with Enlightenment E17 (mmmm)!

Leave a Reply

