linux n00b

Fixing dead Opera on 7.04 Feisty!

Posted in Desktop, Howto by downforce on April 5, 2007

EDIT: Opera has patched up their browser to overcome this problem. See my new blog entry that explains how to download this AND have Opera!

I did the big update as I previously described only to find 10min before leaving for work, Opera no longer loads!

Personally, it’s not an issue as I use FF, but I’ve installed Opera for my wife, she prefers it and when she woke up without it I’d be it I’d be in trouble!!!!

I was getting the following errors:

ERROR: ld.so: object ‘libjvm.so’ from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded: ignored.
ERROR: ld.so: object ‘libawt.so’ from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded: ignored.
Segmentation fault (core dumped)

Well I didn’t fix it before I left, but now I have a bit of time, I’ve found a fix from the Opera forums here:

But this isn’t right for Ubuntu, the actual command is:
sudo dpkg -i /var/cache/apt/archives/libx11-6_2%3a1.1.1-1ubuntu2_i386.deb

From what I’ve gleaned there is a problem in QT which is found in the latest version libx11-6_2%3a1.1.1-1ubuntu3_i386.deb

The next problem is this only fixes it until you do another wajig upgrade. To stop it installing next time simply wajig hold libx11-6. I’d keep an eye out for future updates to this package though as I’d imagine that Ubuntu will have it fixed in version ubuntu4.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] better fix for dead Opera on 7.04 Feisty! Posted April 8, 2007 On my previous post Fixing dead Opera on 7.04 Feisty! I mentioned you could hold back the ‘problem’ package to keep Opera […]

  2. Dennis said, on April 21, 2007 at 00:55

    Best fix:

    1) If you don’t have it, put “deb http://www.getautomatix.com/apt feisty main” in /etc/apt/sources.list.

    2) apt-get update

    3) apt-get upgrade

    This will install a 9.2ish build for Opera that works.


Leave a Reply

