linux n00b

Installing VMWare Server on Feisty.

Posted in Administration, Howto by downforce on March 31, 2007

EDIT: I noticed that I made a few early assumption on getting to this stage. For completeness I have gone back and described how to get VMWare Server. Check is out here.
EDIT2: Updated for new vmware-any-any-update109. Thanks to Monku for letting me know.

VMWare Server is available for free from their website. All you need to do it ‘register’ and get a key. The key is reusable if you ever need to reinstall (which I’ve done a few times now!), mind you there are different keys for Linux and Windows.

When installing vmware-server (and I believe workstation but I don’t use this) on Feisty I was getting errors around compiling vmmon.ko and it would bomb out.

When running 6.10 Edgy I had this same problem, however I was using a kernel.org vanilla kernel – 2.6.20 which was the latest at the time. Feisty, however, comes with 2.6.20 as standard so this problem will occur (I imagine) for everyone.

There is great discussion on this on the VMWare forums and it took me a little while to disseminate all the info. Here is a description of what the patch is, but I’ll run through how to install it.

Go to http://ftp.cvut.cz/vmware/ and download the latest vmware-any-any-updateXXX.tar.gz update, or (as of writing):
wget http://ftp.cvut.cz/vmware/vmware-any-any-update109.tar.gz

Unzip it:
tar zxvf vmware-any-any-update109.tar.gz

Make sure you have what you need to compile
wajig install build-essential **

Enter the directory:
cd vmware-any-any-update109

Run the script:
sudo ./runme.pl

It should prompt you to run vmware-config.pl as well, but if it doesn’t enter:
sudo vmware-config.pl

Go through and answer all the vmware questions and you are up and running! To run the server the command is vmware.

** wajig is a simplified command-line replacement for the package management that comes with debian/Ubuntu. It combines various apt-get/apt-<everything else> functions into one tool and saves a heap of key presses over time. It doesn’t come standard so get it with sudo apt-get install wajig. Make sure you have universe enabled in your sources. Otherwise just use the boring sudo apt-get install XXXX

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kevin G. said, on April 4, 2007 at 11:31

    This Rocks! I’ve been having problems with the other how-to’s since I have Feisty AMD64.

    I’m also a recent WinXP convert, so you’ve now solidified my new OS choice.

  2. pedro said, on April 10, 2007 at 04:34

    thanks a lot!

  3. NickW said, on April 13, 2007 at 03:38

    Interesting – the instructions worked well, and thanks for that – although I don’t understand for a moment what the wajig command is about. Perhaps a one-liner to explain why I’m doing wajig something-aruther would help those of us who are really just users…

    Cheers, NickW

  4. downforce said, on April 13, 2007 at 07:38

    Basically, wajig is a tool that combines the various apt tools into one easy to use command.

    I have a draft in the works that highlights why I like wajig over the standard apt-get/apt-cache etc.

  5. Matt said, on April 16, 2007 at 18:14

    Excellent instructions, easy to follow and best of all….it works


Leave a Reply

