linux n00b

Wobbly windows?? Wobble this!

Posted in Window Managers by downforce on March 29, 2007

I was having a play and tried the ‘Desktop Enhancement’ which I assume is the compiz 3d desktop.

WOW, how annoying!! By default it turned off borders, so I needed to lalt-click to drag them around. I also couldn’t figure out how to use the cube for 3d desktop swapping. Clicking the maps down the bottom didn’t do the cube and lalt-f1/1/n and a variety of other keys didn’t work either.

The worst part is the gui visibly slowed down. Now I definitely don’t have a bleeding edge PC, but I wouldn’t say I have a POS either. When I did buy it 2+ years ago, it was the dogs bollocks, AMD64 3000+, 2GB of dual channel Crucial Ballistix and a 6600GT AGP (:() 128MB – I bought it pretty much exactly 1 month before PCIe boards became available.

Wobbly windows lasted about 15min, next gimmick?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Anonymous said, on August 27, 2008 at 13:11

    Wow… you know nothing about Compiz. Next time you try it try installing Emerald, since the defailt is NOT turniong of window borders but using a newer, better window decorator. And it’s likely slow because it’s still essentially Alpha software. Stop complaining until it’s actually final release.

  2. downforce said, on November 3, 2009 at 23:01

    I can’t believe this post still gets a few hits a day.

    Ahhhh so long ago.

    PS: I still don’t use compiz but I have enabled composition on Xfce.


Leave a Reply

